2015: Jonathan to pick nomination before deadline, constitutes declaration committee

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan

President Goodluck Jonathan has confirmed his preparedness to pick ‎Peoples Democratic Party nomination form to formally express his interest to run for the presidential elections next year before the October 30th deadline given by his party.

Rising from a meeting held Thursday afternoon at House 7 of the Presidential Villa and presided over by President Jonathan, a committee to work out the modalities for his presidential declaration was set up headed by a former acting PDP National Chairman and former minister of defence, Dr. Bello Halliru Mohammed.

The committee was mandated to work on choosing a convenient  date for his declaration which was slated to hold between November 7-15th.

One of those who attended the meeting but pleaded for anonymity, listed other members ‎to include  Sen. Ken Namani (Deputy Chairman), Enugu, Sen. Anyim Pius Anyim (Secretary), Ebonyi, Prof. Rufa’i Ahmed Alkali (member), Gombe, Julius Imagwe – SSA – Youth – (member), Edo, and Dr. Baraka Sani (SSA -NSAP) – Kano, (member).

Governors representing zones are, Liyel Imoke, Cross River (South South), Theodore Orji, Abia (South East), Olusegun Mimiko, Ondo (South West), Dr. Mua’zu Babangida Aliyu Niger (North Central), Ibrahim Shema, Katsina (North West) and Ibrahim Dankwambo, Gombe (North East).

The National Assembly Representatives are Sen. Hosea Agbola , (Oyo), Sen. Ahmed Makarfi (Kaduna), Hon. Bitrus Kaze (Plateau) and Hon. Salmas Badru (Ogun).

The Federal Executive Council Representatives are Minister of Petroleum Resources, Mrs. Dieziani Allison-Madueke ‎(Bayelsa), Minister of Police Affairs, Alhaji Abduljelili Adesiyan (Osun), Minister of Women Affairs, Hajiya Zainab Maina (Adamawa), and Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Sen. Bala Mohammed (Bauchi).

The Party Official Representative are Deputy National Chairman, Prince Uche Secondus‎ (Rivers), Benue State Chapter Chairman, Chief Emmanuel Egbo, (Benue) National Women Leader,  Kema Chikwe (Imo) and North West Zonal Chairman, Amb. Ibrahim Kazaure (Jigawa).

The Party members Representatives are  Sen. Stella Umo (Delta), Sen. Walid Jibirn (BOT Secretary, (Nasarawa), Ibrahim Bunu (Borno), Rev. Jolly Nyame (Taraba), Sen. Aneta Okon (Akwa Ibom), Peter Obi (Anambra), Mrs. Remi Adiuku Bakare (Lagos), and Gen. A. B. Mamman (PDP National Youth Leader) – FCT.

Others appointed at Presidential discretion are Barr. Halima Alfa (Kogi), Nigeria Ambassador to Netherland, Dr. (Mrs.) Nimota Nihinlola Akanbi (Kwara), FCT ALGON Chairman, Hon. Micah Yohanna Jiba ‎(FCT) and Hon. Sam Ikon (Akwa Ibom).

Present at the meeting were Chairman of the Party, Adamu Muazu, Senate President, David Mark, and BoT Chairman, Tony Anenih.—The Citizen