Archives Politics

Buhari sacks 26 heads of government agencies

Written by Maritime First

Eight months, 17 days after taking office, President Muhammadu Buhari disengaged yesterday, 26 Executive Officers of government agencies.

The action is the first to be taken as there are over 500 of such agencies.

A source said the President gave the head of the agencies time to adapt to his administration, but they failed the test of integrity, adaptability and loyalty.

“They were too deeply committed to the past,” he added.

A statement by Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Babachir David Lawal, said the President approved that the most senior officers in the sgencies should oversee the activities of the organisations pending the appointment of substantive Chief Executive Officers.

The government agencies affected include: Nigerian Television Authority (NTA), Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN), Voice of Nigeria (VON), and News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

Others are National Broadcasting Commission (NBC), Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF), New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD), Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF) and Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB).

Also affected are: Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria (FMBN), Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TET Fund), National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA), Petroleum Equalisation Fund and the Nigeria Railway Corporation (NRC).

Others are: Bureau of Public Procurements (BPP), Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE), Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency (PPPRA), Standard Organisation of Nigeria (SON), National Agency for Food and Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC), Nigeria Investment Promotion Council (NIPC), Bank of Industry (BoI), National Centre for Women Development (NCWD), National Orientation Agency (NOA), Industrial Training Fund (ITF), Nigerian Export-Import Bank and National Agency for Prohibition of Traffic In Persons and Other Related Matters (NAPTIP).

Minister of Information and Culture Lai Mohammed met early in the morning with the CEOs of the six information-related agencies under his ministry to announce to them the government’s decision.

These are: Directors-General of NTA, Mr. Sola Omole, FRCN (Mr. Ladan Salihu), VON (Mr Sam Worlu), NOA (Mr. Mike Omeri), NBC (Mr. Emeka Mba) and NAN Managing Director.

Omeri, at about noon, handed over to Mrs Ngozi Ekeoba, promising to forever be an advocate of the NOA’s activities.

Mrs Ekeoba is the most senior director. She is in charge of Political, Civics, Ethics and Values in the agency.

Omeri expressed his gratitude to the past and present administration for the opportunity given him to serve the nation as NOA Director General and for the support given to the agency during his tenure. Omeri was appointed as Director General of NOA on January 16, 2012.


About the author


Maritime First