Lagos NAWOJ elects Ekine as new Chairperson

Alleged rape, assault: NAWOJ insists on fast, unbiased probe of Kogi State Commissioner
Written by Maritime First

The Lagos State Chapter of the Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ) on Thursday elected Mrs Adeola Ekine of the Lagos State Ministry of Information & Strategy as its Chairperson, for a three-year tenure.

Ekine polled 296 votes to defeat her opponent, and Immediate Past Chairperson, Mrs Sekinat Lawal from “Chief Detective’’ who had 16 votes.

While taking the oath of office, Ekine promised to run a transparent and an all-inclusive administration during her tenure.

She also assured members of her determination to promote good and healthy relationship within the association, as well as bringing all “NAWOJIANS ’’ together.

The newly-elected chairperson promised to bridge all gaps within the association; while appreciating the overwhelming support given to her during the election.

The Chairman, Electoral Committee, Mrs Biola Beckley, also declared Mrs Bunmi Yekini of the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) as the Vice Chairperson with 299 votes defeating Tessy Ugomu of the Sun Newspapers with 11 votes.

Beckley said that the election was free and fair in spite of the initial rancour amidst a purported court injunction.

“The committee promised to deliver a free and fair election which we have done and the new executives were sworn in by a lawyer from the Ministry of Justice,’’ she said.

Beckley, however, advised “NAWOJIANS’’ to work together and cooperate to move the association forward.

Speaking later, Mrs Morenike Toye-Esan, Vice- Chairperson, NAWOJ Zone B, said that women should speak with one voice and cooperate.

 Other contestants also elected were Mrs Lillian Ario, Secretary, Voice of Nigeria (VON); Mrs Sherifat Shittu-Maku, Treasurer, Radio      Lagos, Eko FM; Mrs Rukayat Adeyemi, Auditor, News Agency of Nigeria; and Mrs Abosede Adelaja, Vanguard, Assistant Secretary.

About the author

Maritime First