FG orders deportation of 10 Egyptians, 7 Sri-Lankans

FG orders deportation of 10 Egyptians, 7 Sri-Lankans
Written by Maritime First

The Federal Government has approved the deportation of 10 Egyptians and seven Sri-Lankans with immediate effect.

Mr Sunday James, Public Relations Officer, Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS), disclosed this in a statement made available on Friday in Abuja.

James said that the Minister of Interior, Mr Rauf Aregbeshola, had signed the deportation order in pursuant to section 45, subsection 2, section 46, subsection 1 and Section 47, subsection 1 of the Nigeria Immigration Act 2015.

He said that the 10 Egyptians had violated the conditions for their entry and the Minister had ordered their deportation with immediate effect.

“Seven Sri-Lankans that were jailed for petroleum product-related offences after serving their jail terms were ordered by the court to be deported to their country as well.

“The minister also signed the deportation order of one Ali Mahamat Taher to France and one Kasinathan Ramasamy to India who was found to be involved in activities violating the conditions of their entry into Nigeria.

“Taher was found to be engaged in activities capable of undermining the security of a friendly neighboring country to Nigeria in Maiduguri, Borno state.

Also read:  Visa ban: UK respects Nigeria’s sovereignty but determines who gets her visa – Envoy

“While Ramasamy was found working as a shop attendant in Kano,” he said.

The Comptroller General, NIS, Mr Muhammad Babandede, had directed that all migrants in Nigeria should comply with the laws guiding their residence and entry following the resumption of international flight.

“The public is hereby advised to note that all special exemptions granted to migrants due to COVID-19 have elapsed,”he had said.


About the author

Maritime First