crime Economy

Cybercrime: 2 students, one other jailed in Ilorin

Cybercrime: 2 students, one other jailed in Ilorin
Written by Maritime First

… As Gbajabiamila kits principals, teachers after schools resume***

A Kwara High Court sitting in Ilorin on Tuesday sentenced two final year students of different tertiary institutions in Ilorin and one other to various jail terms, over offences bordering on cybercrime.

The convicts; Adetunji Oyewale and Abiodun Adebayo, students of Kwara State University (KWASU), Molete, and Kwara State Polytechnic, Ilorin, respectively, and one Saheed Sikirullahi.

The Ilorin Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) prosecuted the convicts on separate charges.

The presiding judge, Justice Sikiru Oyinloye convicted the three after they pleaded guilty to their charge, but opted for plea bargain.

Delivering judgment, Justice Oyinloye said that he took cognisance of the plea of guilt entered by the defendants, the plea bargain agreements and the exhibits tendered without objection by the defence counsels.

He said that the prosecution had proved its case beyond reasonable doubt and sentenced Oyewale to one year imprisonment with option of fine of N500,000

The court ordered the forfeiture of his black Toyota Corolla Car, with registration number RSH272BF ABUJA, which he acquired with proceeds of unlawful activities.

Also to forfeit his Purple Samsung S10 and Black iPhone XR, which he used as instruments in perpetrating the crime.

Similarly, Adebayo was sentenced to one year imprisonment with option of N500,000 fine.

The court also ordered the forfeiture of the convict’s Black Toyota Camry Car 2007 model, with registration number FST 764 GT, which he acquired with proceeds of crime.

Also to forfeit his HP Pavilion Laptop and Gold Apple iPhone 11 Promax, which the convict used to perpetrate the crime to the federal government.

The court also ordered the forfeiture of the Manager’s Cheque of N400,000, which the convict also raised as restitution to his victims.

In a similar vein, Sikirullahi was sentenced to one year, with option of fine of N200,000.

The court ordered that the sum of $450, which he benefited from the crime, as well as his iPhone 11 Promax, be forfeited to the federal government.

In another development, School Teachers and Principals in Surulere 1 Federal Constituency on Tuesday in Lagos, received Laptops for ease of teaching, facilitated By Rt Hon Femi Gbajabiamila, Speaker, House of Representatives.

Also read: Katsina records 73% SSCE pass, while Bayelsa students write exams on bare floor

At the event, the Executive Chairman, Surulere Local Government, Sulaiman Yusuf, and his Vice, Mr Adewale Dosumu, represented and donated the work tool on behalf of the Speaker.

In his speech, the Chairman said that the era of the popular saying that “The reward of teachers is in heaven” has passed. Rather, their reward starts now and this was one of the manifestations of such rewards for their essential and worthy services to humanity.”

Yusuf said the gesture was another dynamic performance and a consistent hallmark of representation by the Speaker in taking Surulere to the pinnacle of success in terms of education.

He said this was to ensure the highest standard obtainable in learning and teachings by equipping teachers with Laptops in seven schools within Surulere Local Government.

He recalled that The Speaker, in times past, had donated laptops to students across various schools within Surulere.

In a vote of thanks, Mr Joseph Shoremekun, the Chairman of National Union of Teachers (NUT), Surulere Branch, recalled that the Speaker  had been a quintessential representative and supportive to matters of education within his Constituency

Shoremekun disclosed that the Surulere educational branch of the NUT has also benefitted with a Brand new Toyota Hiace Bus, donated by the Speaker.

The newsmen report that the benefiting schools includes; Ajigbeda Girls High School, Stadium Senior High School, Zumratulby Islamiyah High School, Surulere Girls Junior and Senior Secondary. School.

Other beneficiary schools are New Era Girls Junior and Senior Secondary School, Akintan Junior and Senior Secondary School, Onitolo Junior and Senior School.


About the author

Maritime First