Health and Safety

FRSC orders Commanding Officers to physically supervise deployment of personnel, logistics

Accident claims 3 lives on Lagos/Ibadan expressway; 6 died, 3 injured in Jigawa auto crash
Written by Maritime First

The Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) has ordered Commanding Officers to physically supervise the deployment of staff and logistics to identify critical locations across the country.

The Corps Marshall, Dr. Boboye Oyeyemi, said the directive was to ensure good visibility of the Corps and proactiveness towards preventing traffic jams as travellers returned from their various locations.

Also read: SALLAH: FRSC Deploys 2000 officials on Lagos roads

Oyeyemi said this in a statement by the Corps Public Education Officer (CPEO) Bisi Kazeem in Abuja.

Oyeyemi said the directives were to combat gridlocks that might hinder the smooth flow of traffic as the Eid-EL Fitr holiday-makers began to travel back after the celebration.

He said that the directives also affected to Zonal Commanding Officers, Sector Commanders, Corridor Commanders and Unit Commanders all over the country.

According to him, patrol teams must remain on their routes till 1900HRS when traffic volume is expected to have reduced drastically.

“Rescue teams are to be on standby in all commands to take care of emergencies, ” he said.

Oyeyemi also directed that pictures of traffic situations from critical locations prone to traffic gridlock must be forwarded to the monitoring team.

This, he said, was to guarantee efficient monitoring of the critical routes, and a control room at the headquarters to reassure management of free movement of vehicles.

“Expectedly, the sector commanders are to consistently supervise the activities of the unit Commanders under them to ensure adequate supervision of their routes.

“The identified critical locations are Hawan kibo, mararaban Jos, Zuba Junction, Giri Junction, Gidan waya, Iwo Road Roundabout.

“Sagamu exchange, Ore /Ondo exchange, Oluku junction, Abia Tower, Odukpani Junction, Jebba, Mokwa, Gombe Town byePass, Jere, Tafa, Dikko U-Turn, and NATACO Junction.

“Others include Kotonkarfe, Gwagwalada, Akungba Junction, Mowe, Ibafo, Ibuza Junction, Upper Iweka, Onitsha Head bridge, Ossisioma Junction, Benin byePass, Zariagi Junction, Okene township, Ewu Junction, ” he said.

Oyeyemi commended the motoring public for their cooperation so far and enjoined them to continue complying with road traffic rules and regulations.

This he said, was to achieve the envisioned zero road traffic crashes during and beyond the period.

He, therefore, called on the public to utilise the FRSC toll-free number 122 to report emergencies and gridlocks as well as tune to the National Traffic Radio 107.1FM for real-time traffic updates.


About the author

Maritime First